Legacy Amateur Series (May 14): Recap and Pictures

Written By: AJ Hoffman
Photos By: Justin Trapp (AthletePortraits.com)

Legacy Amateur Series put on another outstanding show Saturday night, despite losing the main event the night before (and then again the morning of the fights).

The main event spot was taken over by Manny Lozoya and David Armas, who fought a close 3 rounds before the judges gave Lozoya a 29-28 unanimous decision victory, naming him the Legacy Amateur Bantamweight champion.

Levi West was scheduled to fight Rodrigo Martinez but Martinez no-showed the weigh ins. Chris “Chop” Rucker from Paradigm agreed to take the fight, but after sleeping on it realized he was not ready to take the fight on such short notice, having just fought last weekend at the Garcia Promotions event. It left West with no opponent, and left the card short a main event. Legacy is already planning the main event at the July show, announcing that West will take on Kevin Thomas of IV oz. Fight Club. The two had a heated stare down in the cage which lead to even more jawing between the two outside the cage. That fight should spark some fireworks.

Another title fight set for the amateur ranks will feature Monica Earnshaw taking on Kristy Kester for the first women’s amateur title in the organization. Earnshaw earned the title shot with a dominating TKO win over Tina Gomez.

Other news coming out of the night was the announcement of Jason David Frank’s next opponent. After the online poll on LegacyFights.tv, it was announced that Shawn Machado of Hoger MMA will be taking on JDF, who now trains under Machado’s last opponent, Tony Orozco of Silverback. Machado received over 40% of the online vote.

The next Legacy pro show will be headlined by Carlo “Neo” Prater, fresh off two quick submission victories (one in Strikeforce, one in Brazil), taking on The Ultimate Fighter Season 8 winner Efrain Escudero. Escudero trains under Drew Fickett, who has two wins over Prater.

Below you will find the results and pictures from last night’s fights. For full play by play from the event click HERE.

Final Results

James Powell def. Joe MOreno via Guillotine in Rd 1 (1:36)
Monica Earnshaw def. Tina Gomez via TKO in Rd 1 (1:59)
Mike Alvarez def. Ryan Josey via Rear Naked Choke in Rd 3 (2:48)
Ricky Turcios def. Hugo De Le Fuenta via TKO in Rd 3 (Made To Win fight of the Night)
Tucker Dierksheide def. John Rodriguez via Darce Choke in Rd 1 (Made to Win Submission of the Night)
Brandon Boyd def. Jesse Martinez via Unanimous Decision (30-26,30-27,30-27)
Trent Draper def. Jose Pacheco via Unanimous Decision
Jacob Silva def. Alex Ramirez via Unanimous Decision (29-28,29-28,29-28)
David Montemoyor def. Kolton Englund via Split Decision
Tony Orozco Jr. def. Angel Zamora via TKO in Rd 1 (1:13)
Kalieb Cummings def. Mike Eaglin via Majority Decision (28-28, 29-27,29-27)
Manny Lozoya def. David Armas Unanimous Decision