2010 Houston MMA Pro Awards Nominees

[adrotate banner=”38″]

2010 has been a great year for Houston MMA, so it is with great pleasure that we announce the finalist for our first ever awards, the 2010 Houston MMA Awards, sponsored by Furia Fightwear.  This year there are 4 major categories of awards: Pro Awards, Amateur Awards, Community Awards and Fighter of the year (pro and amateur).

What follows below are the pro award nominees, sponsored by Punk Star Industries. Each fighter that wins in this category will receive a $25 gift certificate that can be used in the Punk Star Industries online store (located here) or redeemed at their booth at an IXFA show. Nominees for these awards are comprised of all of our live coverage award winners for each show through out the year.

The winners of Fight of the Year, Submission of the Year and Knock Out of the Year will be determined by the combination of an online vote open to everyone and the vote of a 10 member, non-biased media only panel.

The winner of the Rookie of the Year award will be determined by a formula that takes into account fighter activity, wins/losses, opponent rank, titles won, and other factors (the complete formula will be published at the time the award winner is announced).  To be eligible for Rookie of the Year, a fighter must have made his PRO debut in in 2010.


Pro Awards Nominees
sponsored by Punk Star Industries

Fight of the Year Candidates

Trujillo vs Rivera
(Legacy 03/20)
Lewis vs Mitchell
(WGC 04/09)
Gardner vs Rexroad
(Legacy 07/31)
Peterson vs Dupar
(Puro Combate 08/04)

King vs Rivera
(Puro Combate 10/14)
Ledet vs Foster
(IXFA 10/16)
Blodgett vs Trujillo
(Legacy 11/05)
Chaw vs Garza
(WGC 11/12)

Ramirez vs Schindler
(IXFA 12/04)
Submission of the Year Candidates
Greg Bellomy
(Anaconda 03/20)
Josh Lee
(Guillotine 04/09)
Daniel Pineda
(RNC 07/31)
Lexi Pappas
(Guillotine 08/04)
Jeremy Morris
(Triangle 10/16)
Derrick Lewis
(Arm Bar 11/12)
Domingo Pilarte
(Arm Bar 12/04)
Knockout of the Year Candidates
Jonathon Harris
(Punches 03/20)
Sam Hoger
(Head Kick 04/09)
Jonathan Harris
(Knee 07/31)
Ike Villanueva
(Punches 10/14)
Tim Snyder
(Punches 10/16)
Jared Taylor
(Spinning Backfist 11/12)

Rookie of the Year
To Be Determined

[adrotate banner=”38″]