2010 Houston MMA Amateur Awards WINNERS

[adrotate banner=”38″]

Our 2010 Houston MMA Amateur Awards are sponsored by Clean by Troy Garza. Each fighter that wins in this category will receive a Clean Bloodline T-Shirt and a Clean dog tag.

The winners of Fight of the Year, Submission of the Year and Knock Out of the Year were determined by the combination of an online vote open to everyone and the vote of a non-biased, media only panel.

The winner of the Rookie of the Year award was determined by a formula/points system that takes into account fighter activity, wins/losses, opponent rank, and titles won/defended.  Points are awarded (or subtracted where applicable) for each milestone reached by each fighter during the year.  To be eligible for Rookie of the Year, a fighter must have made his AMATEUR debut in in 2010 (it does not matter if he went pro later).

The point system used was:

Compete in a fight + .5 pts
Win a fight + 1 pt
Lose a fight – 1 pt
Win Award* +1
Beat a ranked opp. +(Opp Rank * .10)
Beat a P4P ranked opp. +1
Win or defend a title +1

* Awards are Fight of the Night, Submission of the Nigh or KO of the Night.

Amateur Awards Winners

sponsored by Clean by Troy Garza

Submission of the Year

Cory Allmand’s 17 sec. Arm Bar
(Lonestar Beatdown Jan 30)


Knock Out of the Year

Ola Siyanbola’s Head Kick KO
(Lonestar Beatdown May 14)


[adrotate banner=”38″]

Fight of the Year

Cody Phillips vs Alex Black
(Legacy Muay Thai April 2nd)


Rookie of the Year

Colin Wright – Paradigm

Colin Wright Related Posts

[adrotate banner=”38″]